DIY lathe! Need help/suggestions!

This is where record cutters raise questions about cutting, and trade wisdom and experiment results. We love Scully, Neumann, Presto, & Rek-O-Kut lathes and Wilcox-Gay Recordios (among others). We are excited by the various modern pro and semi-pro systems, too, in production and development. We use strange, extinct disc-based dictation machines. And other stuff, too.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

Woodbury

DIY lathe! Need help/suggestions!

Wed Apr 08, 2009 7:24 pm

Ok. I am new to the world of record cutting, I have never owned one and do not even know how one works exactly..here is my project though, its a completely home made record cutter. I used a track to create a moving table top which is driven by a worm gear, powered by a 6V DC motor run through a few small-to-big gears that I took from bikes and what not. A record player is put on the table top, and it is very very very slowly moved via the motor (I also put a rheostat on the DC current so the speed is variable). I then made a cutting mechanism by attaching a bent sewing needle to a small speaker. The speaker is attached to a board fixed over the moving record player, which can be raised or lowered via nuts....so here is the deal, I have been trying it out cutting onto transparencies and plastic plates and it DOES WORK!! but, it does not work well. The sound is distorted, has lots of noise and is quiet. Also, the playing needle has a hard time staying in the grooves. The problem is defiantly in the speaker/needle system. Does anyone have any ideas of a better DIY way to do this, using the machine that I have made? How does a REAL one work anyhow? should I use a different type of needle? which way are the vibrations supposed to be cut, up and down, or side to side? please give me suggestions on what to try next, and check out the photos below.

http://c3.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images02/67/l_b91769c6aac24ca59ef4ed32d3f63daa.jpg