Combination DMM, LP-45 and CD-4 QuadraDisc.

Anything goes! Inventors! Artists! Cutting edge solutions to old problems. But also non-commercial usage of record cutting. Cost- effective, cost-ineffective, nutso, brilliant, terribly fabulous and sometimes fabulously terrible ideas.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

diamone

Combination DMM, LP-45 and CD-4 QuadraDisc.

Mon Apr 22, 2013 8:31 pm

Since there's no forums on here exclusive to DMM, exclusive to audiophile 45-LP or exclusive to CD-4 we decided to post this in Experimenters - even though the research is pretty much complete on it:

If anybody is serious about wanting to sponsor a new combination DMM LP-45 CD-4 project -

My colleagues and I have been researching this for about the past seven years or so - and we think either with one of the latter-day (1977) 2/3rd speed CD-4 cutterheads Greg Bogantz worked with - or the Ortofon prototype they made exactly six of in Scandanavia in 1979 -

we could have them converted to DMM -

get a VMS-82/84 lathe and in the process become the only commercial mastering house in America (besides Scientology) to even HAVE DMM in the FIRST place even for NORMAL cutting (which could also help raise money for the CD-4 DMM project) - and then

Attract the non-CD-4 audiophile market as well with cutting at 33 to play back at 45 the same way that both covers the same guys that would buy Half-Speed-Masters (if they made them) as well as the Super-Sonic 45-RPM formats that split a single LP over 4 sides.

But with DMM we wouldn't HAVE to split it up over two discs, so then it would keep the cost down to a reasonable amount since DMM can give you a side length of up to 35 mins for 33 without MUCH loss of quality - at least for which the 45 RPM speed wouldn't make up in one fashion or the next - which means roughly 23 minutes at 45 - enough time for the vast majority of single-disc LP's.