Tubes! Welcome tubeactive

Introduce yourself! Recommended for people who are just starting out, as opposed to experienced lathe cutters who are new members.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

tubeactive

Tubes! Welcome tubeactive

Fri Feb 14, 2014 7:01 pm

Hi ! While this is my first post here in this secret society, I am not an audio newbie. I first learned of this forum while researching the Gotham PFB-150 Cutter amp. I have been lurking now and then for a while. It was actually difficult finding real lit on this amp's innards. Thank You, Steve E for bringing the secret society online. While I am not cutting discs, I have been active within the sound studio world in past decades and very active within the tube hifi world for nearly four decades.

My specialties have morphed during this time. Originally known as a tube amp guy, some have told me I am somewhat of an authority about vintage tube audio history. While that may sound immodest, I do not intend this. I will freely divulge info and share my knowledge to all who care. Having fixed, restored and upgraded tube gear for over 35 years, built amps and preamps from scratch since the mid-'80s, surprisingly I started learning how to retip phono cartridges a few years ago.

Still hot-rodding phono preamps, I believe I can help the Playback forum. Some of the classic phono preamp designs, particularly tube gear, are still very worthy and even reference grade. Some simpler tube phono preamp designs may be just what we need for more enjoyable listening. I'd like to bring some of this playback info to this club and spur some good conversation, history and camaraderie. Thank You for the opportunity !

IRF80

Re: Welcome, Newbies! Say Hi in this thread!

Sat Feb 15, 2014 4:48 am

Hi tubeactive,

Nice... I'm a bit ignorant when it comes to tube gear but love the look of it. I think the reliability has always put me off a bit.