Magnetic cutting heads versus crystal

Introduce yourself! Recommended for people who are just starting out, as opposed to experienced lathe cutters who are new members.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

ilium

Magnetic cutting heads versus crystal

Mon Feb 09, 2015 6:11 pm

First off I'd like to say that I'm really new to all this and I'm thinking about building a record cutter.

With that said I have a question about magnetic cutters and after searching didn't find the answer I was looking for. So what is the main difference between a magnetic head and a crystal head. Both require an electromagnetic action to work?

I found mentions of at least one person who has built their own but I have not come across any DIY plans for doing so?

emorritt

Re: Magnetic cutting heads versus crystal

Tue Feb 10, 2015 8:13 am