Vanrock audio volume and mixing

Introduce yourself! Recommended for people who are just starting out, as opposed to experienced lathe cutters who are new members.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

YourFace

Vanrock audio volume and mixing

Thu Oct 17, 2019 10:20 am

Hi guys. Total noob here. I recently purchased a Vanrock lathe and have been working with it to get good clean cuts. It came with one sapphire cutter and one metal cutter. So far I have gotten a clean cut (embossing actually) with the sapphire cutter turned backwards. It has no surface noise but it's extremely quiet and doesn't have a lot of depth of sound. It is set up in my basement so it's a little cold down there. I tried heating the blanks with a lamp and it seemed to create more surface noise.

Do I need to run my audio through an amp and/or mixer before it goes into the Vanrock?

I don't have much audio equipment yet. I just wanted to try to get a good cut out of it before I went any further. Right now I am running my audio as a mono .wav file on my pc directly into the recorder. The audio does have an IRIAA curve applied. I have heard that you need a digital-analog converter, amp and a mixer/eq. There's a lot of different equipment and cutting styles I'm not sure which direction I should go with my setup.

I would like to start making records for local bands in my area. My brother wants to send me some masters of his bands music but I told him I'm not ready yet lol.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Gus

Re: Vanrock audio volume and mixing

Thu Oct 17, 2019 1:12 pm

I'm not a vanrock owner but first of all check the dc resistance of you cutterhead with a multimeter normally it will read something between 4-8 ohms.
2. Maybe the enclosed amplifier has defect.
3. All embossed recordings is lower compared tradisional pressed records.

markrob

Thu Oct 17, 2019 1:15 pm

Hi,