Tungsten Embossing Styli

Selling equipment? know of a good lead on obtaining equipment? looking to buy? You can post info here.

Note: We have no system in place, nor the human resources, to enforce fees, for what amounts to placing an ad with the best possible audience for your items. Nonetheless, there is hope, need, and expectation: Please show good will, and help the site survive, by giving a contribution (using the golden button up top) when your item sells, or if the site helps you find the service you need.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

Farmerjohn

Tungsten Embossing Styli

Sat Mar 22, 2014 2:09 pm

Hello fellow Lathe Trolls!
My name is John Farmer, and I have been a record cutting hobbyist for about 3 or 4 years now. I was a jeweler for 10 years and also spent a year tinkering around in a friend's machine shop. Always active in one project or another, I've recently been attempting to make polycarbonate embossing/impressing styli. I've come up with a precision ground tungsten stylus that is giving great results. I've sent these to a few fellow trolls to help me test them, and I now feel confident to bring them to the public.

I make the styli through a process of grinding, polishing, and then a final treatment to the tip to help reduce surface noise. Using lighter fluid on the polycarbonate blank as a cutting lubricant, I am getting a low noise floor. The groove that is being impressed in is giving great fidelity. The highs are coming out quite clear, and the general muddiness that is associated with embossing is largely gone. They will obviously not sound as good as cutting a lacquer, but quite nice for embossing. These are also much less frustrating than using a backward ruby stylus. All you do is lock it into the cutter head and away you go. I drop and tone test each one I make.