Presto J-5 Motor Mounts?

This is where record cutters raise questions about cutting, and trade wisdom and experiment results. We love Scully, Neumann, Presto, & Rek-O-Kut lathes and Wilcox-Gay Recordios (among others). We are excited by the various modern pro and semi-pro systems, too, in production and development. We use strange, extinct disc-based dictation machines. And other stuff, too.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

timinbovey

Presto J-5 Motor Mounts?

Mon Aug 28, 2017 5:39 pm

I'm just getting into the "restoration" of a Presto J-5. It's a decent and complete machine but it's been sitting for years and years. As I work my way through the mechanicals, I've noticed quite a bit of motor noise being transferred to the motorboard.

Figured the motor mounts must be hard, so I removed one to investigate. What the heck are these made out of? This is either petrified white rubber or wood. Seriously, it seems like a white piece of wood with a washer on either end. Clearly, they're what's been in it for 80 years, but what to replace them with? Rubber? I don't suppose there's anyone reproducing Presto motor mounts? Maybe these are wood and they had rubber washers on the ends that are now hard and flattened? I'm really perplexed!

Is this even the right place to post this question? I'm a new guy around here.

Tim in Bovey

rsimms3

Re: Presto J-5 Motor Mounts?

Mon Aug 28, 2017 6:39 pm

They were rubber and described as such in the instruction manual. I've found the rubber rollers in printers to be of a similar size/shape/compression characteristics to the original motor mounts. The quality of the rubber on your platter also makes a difference. If it's hardened or has flat spots you get increased rumble.

timinbovey

Re: Presto J-5 Motor Mounts?

Sat Sep 09, 2017 4:14 pm

Thought I'd add a follow up.

I was able to recreate the motor mounts using fuel line. I had done this years ago for some other record player.