Deep Grooves Mastering - Dr. Cuts Vinyl Mastering VST

Anything goes! Inventors! Artists! Cutting edge solutions to old problems. But also non-commercial usage of record cutting. Cost- effective, cost-ineffective, nutso, brilliant, terribly fabulous and sometimes fabulously terrible ideas.

Moderators: piaptk, mossboss, tragwag, Aussie0zborn, Steve E., Simon

Re: Deep Grooves Mastering - Dr. Cuts Vinyl Mastering VST

Unread postby opcode66 » Mon Feb 02, 2015 9:23 pm

Here are the latest setups. If you are having issues, please uninstall and reinstall from the appropriate setup below. I'm praying that this resolves the issues for everyone. By the way, I run Dr. Cuts on a Windows 7 Pro x64 bit computer.

Dr. Cuts 32 Bit Setup


Dr. Cuts 64 Bit Setup
Cutting, Inventing & Innovating
Groove Graphics, VMS Halfnuts, MIDI Automation, 320 Diamondsi & Stereo Feedback Cutterheads Soon!
Cutterhead Repair: Recoiling, Rewiring, Cleaning, Cloning of Screws, Dampers & More.
www.DeepGroovesMastering.com
User avatar
opcode66
 
Posts: 2590
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 11:56 pm
Blog: View Blog (2)


Re: Deep Grooves Mastering - Dr. Cuts Vinyl Mastering VST

Unread postby lucien » Tue Feb 03, 2015 10:01 am

Thank you. It works here now.
I've just tried it and here are 3 print screens to let you know about the a few issues I've encountered just in case.

-From the state OFF to ON there's a volume and a balance difference.
-When I choose reset to factory default there's a graphic bug (thresh and knee knobs).

I look forward from seeing the future development of this VST :)
Attachments
Drcuts-OFF.jpg
lucien
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 1:01 pm
Location: France

Re: Deep Grooves Mastering - Dr. Cuts Vinyl Mastering VST

Unread postby lucien » Tue Feb 03, 2015 10:02 am

ON
Attachments
Drcuts-ON.jpg
lucien
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 1:01 pm
Location: France

Re: Deep Grooves Mastering - Dr. Cuts Vinyl Mastering VST

Unread postby lucien » Tue Feb 03, 2015 10:02 am

Reset to factory default
Attachments
Drcuts-reset.jpg
lucien
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 1:01 pm
Location: France

Re: Deep Grooves Mastering - Dr. Cuts Vinyl Mastering VST

Unread postby opcode66 » Tue Feb 03, 2015 10:11 am

Cool. Shouldn't be hard to resolve. Thanks for sticking with me here!
Cutting, Inventing & Innovating
Groove Graphics, VMS Halfnuts, MIDI Automation, 320 Diamondsi & Stereo Feedback Cutterheads Soon!
Cutterhead Repair: Recoiling, Rewiring, Cleaning, Cloning of Screws, Dampers & More.
www.DeepGroovesMastering.com
User avatar
opcode66
 
Posts: 2590
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 11:56 pm
Blog: View Blog (2)

Re: Deep Grooves Mastering - Dr. Cuts Vinyl Mastering VST

Unread postby studiorp » Tue Feb 03, 2015 7:00 pm

Sorry, but I am not so lucky. Too I have Win7 x64 pro, but nothing, on my comp. is not working.
I have too changed another interesting program with vst table plugins, but nothing... : http://www.wavosaur.com/
studiorp
 
Posts: 743
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 6:55 pm

Re: Deep Grooves Mastering - Dr. Cuts Vinyl Mastering VST

Unread postby studiorp » Tue Feb 03, 2015 7:02 pm

Sorry opcode66, but isn't better create a little light software with your options like iriaa for example than a simple file dll ?
studiorp
 
Posts: 743
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 6:55 pm

Re: Deep Grooves Mastering - Dr. Cuts Vinyl Mastering VST

Unread postby opcode66 » Tue Feb 03, 2015 7:17 pm

Why would that be better? I use a daw to cut from. This works for my daw. It is staring to work for others. I have not time or interest in creating a daw.
Cutting, Inventing & Innovating
Groove Graphics, VMS Halfnuts, MIDI Automation, 320 Diamondsi & Stereo Feedback Cutterheads Soon!
Cutterhead Repair: Recoiling, Rewiring, Cleaning, Cloning of Screws, Dampers & More.
www.DeepGroovesMastering.com
User avatar
opcode66
 
Posts: 2590
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 11:56 pm
Blog: View Blog (2)

Re: Deep Grooves Mastering - Dr. Cuts Vinyl Mastering VST

Unread postby studiorp » Wed Feb 04, 2015 5:59 am

Solved all finally ! With Audacity your Dr. Cuts 32 works on my computer. Thanks.
studiorp
 
Posts: 743
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 6:55 pm

Re: Deep Grooves Mastering - Dr. Cuts Vinyl Mastering VST

Unread postby studiorp » Wed Feb 04, 2015 6:10 am

And too with Nero Wave editor works; yes, but i have recovered your dll to 32 ( 64 not working ) into plugins folder of Audacity, and then i have inserted it in plugins of my two editors, only so in this mode works, others noting.
Thanks again.
studiorp
 
Posts: 743
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 6:55 pm

Re: Deep Grooves Mastering - Dr. Cuts Vinyl Mastering VST

Unread postby opcode66 » Wed Feb 04, 2015 5:45 pm

Great! I wanted to sort all this out because my next VST control will be a Pitch Computer. Yes, that's right. I'm going to make a usb device that the VST will comunicate with directly. The VST will supply the pitch motors with juice via pwm. The tachometers will be interpreted by the usb box and sent digital to the VST. Things like start, stop, lead in and lead out will also be routed to my usb box, translated to digital and sent to the vst. Base pitch and depth will all be set on screen and could then be displayed in the existing meters. in your daw you would load up the same wave twice. One starts at zero for preview and has the pitch computer vst. The other at 1.1 or .84 seconds that has audio for the cutterhead.

So, I wanted to figure out how to make and distribute a vst and get all the issues worked out. Thanks for being part of this test.
Cutting, Inventing & Innovating
Groove Graphics, VMS Halfnuts, MIDI Automation, 320 Diamondsi & Stereo Feedback Cutterheads Soon!
Cutterhead Repair: Recoiling, Rewiring, Cleaning, Cloning of Screws, Dampers & More.
www.DeepGroovesMastering.com
User avatar
opcode66
 
Posts: 2590
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 11:56 pm
Blog: View Blog (2)

Re: Deep Grooves Mastering - Dr. Cuts Vinyl Mastering VST

Unread postby Sillitoe » Wed Feb 04, 2015 6:16 pm

Glad to help!
Sillitoe
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 8:30 pm

Re: Deep Grooves Mastering - Dr. Cuts Vinyl Mastering VST

Unread postby studiorp » Wed Feb 04, 2015 6:22 pm

So Todd, correct me if I am in mistake : you are building an usb box that will be linked to computer by usb probably, that's right ? And the other part on lathe ?

If so, could be used with any lathe ?
studiorp
 
Posts: 743
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 6:55 pm

Re: Deep Grooves Mastering - Dr. Cuts Vinyl Mastering VST

Unread postby opcode66 » Wed Feb 04, 2015 6:35 pm

Could be modified to work with many lathes. Yes. Not all lathes operate the same. Or have feedback on their pitch motors. But, in short, yes. Obviously, overhead mechanisms that use the platter motor wont work.
Cutting, Inventing & Innovating
Groove Graphics, VMS Halfnuts, MIDI Automation, 320 Diamondsi & Stereo Feedback Cutterheads Soon!
Cutterhead Repair: Recoiling, Rewiring, Cleaning, Cloning of Screws, Dampers & More.
www.DeepGroovesMastering.com
User avatar
opcode66
 
Posts: 2590
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 11:56 pm
Blog: View Blog (2)

Re: Deep Grooves Mastering - Dr. Cuts Vinyl Mastering VST

Unread postby EmAtChapterV » Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:51 am

opcode66 wrote:I wanted to sort all this out because my next VST control will be a Pitch Computer.


Kudos, I look forward to seeing this! I got as far myself as applying RIAA-versus-excursion EQ and a graphing mid/side peak meter on a sidechain with a delay, to figure out the maximum excursions one-half to one full revolution before they arrived, but I got stuck trying to translate those meter readings into MIDI note values and instead sat there with a lookup table I'd written that added excursion distance to groove width and translated that into LPI, watching the line on the graph. Not very practical or efficient.
User avatar
EmAtChapterV
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 7:49 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC

Re: Deep Grooves Mastering - Dr. Cuts Vinyl Mastering VST

Unread postby opcode66 » Thu Feb 05, 2015 5:17 am

My initial thought was to use midi to simplifiy communications with the box. But, I decided that I wanted as close to realtime communication back and forth to and and from the lathe as possible. MIDI is based on a rather slow UART clock which is 31,250. I can write code that runs on a chip that can interact with a device driver that the VST control can load. So, direct communication with an external box over USB 2.0 or 3.0 from a VST running in any DAW. Getting good tacho speed data from the motors will be a breeze in this scenario. Using that with the data from the wave files and user settings like base pitch and depth will not be particularly hard to implement in this scenario. The only other thing to factor into the equation is external gain manipulation. So, that can also be a setting. But, there will be a calibration process that will resolve any issues there.
Cutting, Inventing & Innovating
Groove Graphics, VMS Halfnuts, MIDI Automation, 320 Diamondsi & Stereo Feedback Cutterheads Soon!
Cutterhead Repair: Recoiling, Rewiring, Cleaning, Cloning of Screws, Dampers & More.
www.DeepGroovesMastering.com
User avatar
opcode66
 
Posts: 2590
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 11:56 pm
Blog: View Blog (2)

Re: Deep Grooves Mastering - Dr. Cuts Vinyl Mastering VST

Unread postby ejemmons » Thu Feb 05, 2015 2:21 pm

Yay! DrCuts is loaded in Nuendo 4 Win 8 - will run it around thoroughly later today - I can't wait - looks very promising! Hats off, Gentlemen! Will try 64 bit version across the hall as well - Nuendo 6.5 Win7-64.
Scully "500" with Westrex 3DIIa,
RA-1574E amps.
ejemmons
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Crestline, California

Re: Deep Grooves Mastering - Dr. Cuts Vinyl Mastering VST

Unread postby dimi751 » Fri Feb 06, 2015 5:52 pm

Nice work opcode !

I tested on MacBook Pro mid 2010 osx 10.8, 8gb ram cubasis 6 works well thanks

Dimi
User avatar
dimi751
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 9:24 pm

Re: Deep Grooves Mastering - Dr. Cuts Vinyl Mastering VST

Unread postby Biohazard40 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 8:42 am

This might be a silly question, but did the balance issue in this version ever get resolved?
It seems to favor the right channel?

I'm working around it now with a general balance and gain utility.

But the install wizard worked where just assigning a custom vst folder did not.

Thanks in advance ,
- Colin
Biohazard40
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:00 pm

Previous

Return to Experimenters' & Innovators' forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alfa.omega and 9 guests