DIY Overhead Lathe

Anything goes! Inventors! Artists! Cutting edge solutions to old problems. But also non-commercial usage of record cutting. Cost- effective, cost-ineffective, nutso, brilliant, terribly fabulous and sometimes fabulously terrible ideas.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

chaosbc

DIY Overhead Lathe

Sun May 27, 2012 7:39 am

Hi there, as a newbie, I open this new topic since I decided to try to build the impossible : a DIY stereo record lathe.
I am french and I don't know anyone here who even heard about record lathe so you will be (if you agree :wink:) my only support
I have read a ton on the web and on this very message board.
Obviously, it will be very difficult but I am 100 % determined to succeed ...
Yesterday, I went to my local electronic store and I bought two 40w 8 ohm small speakers for the head. I noticed afterward these are boomer miniature, so I guess not the best for what I plan to do but hey...it's a first try, it will be possible to change it after anyway.
My turntable is a Stanton STR8-150 and my amp is an old school Teac AS-100. (1973 baby !)

No sleep 'till the records will be cut !
Last edited by chaosbc on Tue Jan 01, 2013 3:33 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Angus McCarthy

Sun May 27, 2012 8:44 am

Welcome to the forum!

I'm sure you've already come across many of the scratch-built stereo heads out there on the web. There are quite a few examples in this sub-forum as well. I never got to the point of trying to build a stereo head. My experiments with a rudimentary mono head proved to me that I just don't have the tools to make that kind of fine machinery. Keep us posted!

markrob

Sun May 27, 2012 1:01 pm

Hi,

Welcome and good luck with you DIY project. Here are some suggestions based on what I have learned from my experiments.