Japanese Lathe (Hara Recording Devices)

A spot for keeping track of especially cool (informative, fun) videos, photos, scans and other links about record cutting. (You can post them in other sections. Eventually they may end up here.) NOTE: Please put *Circuits, Schematics and Manuals* in the section with that name.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

sleepkid

Japanese Lathe (Hara Recording Devices)

Mon Feb 10, 2014 1:40 pm

Was: New Lathe Troll and Japanese Lathe

Hello everyone. Glad to be here (I have lurked off and on for a while). Thanks in advance for all your patience and help. I'm new to the lathe game, in that I just bought my first lathe today. It was in a recycle shop near my house, and after checking it out carefully I went back again and bought it.

It's Japanese. (I'm in Japan. I'm not Japanese, but I speak/read Japanese having lived here for roughly 10 years.) Label on the front says "Cell Original Sound" - and I'm going to guess that is not the name of the manufacturer since it says "Side B 33 1/3 RPM" - but it has no other identifying marks on it anywhere. Google searching it took me to a photo that someone else had snapped of this unit 2 years earlier when it sat in the same shop, but was twice as much. (I paid $400 for it)

It is probably manufactured by the same person/company as the one in this video (which has been discussed on this forum before), but a different model:
I checked mine as carefully as I could before purchasing. Runs nice and smooth, and I even got the recycle shop to let me test cut onto a CD. It all looks to be 90% functioning.