davideakin

Wanted: Anything involving the RIAA pre-emphasis

Thu Jul 03, 2014 10:03 am

Hi everyone!
I'm new here, and I know very little about disc cutting. I'm an electronic engineer, not a recording engineer, but this looks liek the place to ask some specific questions:

Recently I have become interested in RIAA equalization and the various arguments that exist, such as the "Neumann 4th pole", innacuracy (or not) in cutting amplifiers, and the exchange that took place between CD4cutter and Cohearent a few years ago:
http://lathetrolls.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=1417
(I still can't decide who was right!)

I don't know much about lathes, but I do know about circuits. I would therefore love to see some schematics of the inverse RIAA filters using in cutting amplifiers, so I can make up my own mind about these arguments. Is anyone willing to share with me? If you don't want to send whole schematics that's OK, I would be happy with cuttings of just the important filters.

As an experienced analog engineer, maybe I can reciprocate by helping out with any electronic questions others may have on the forum :D

opcode66

Re: Wanted: Anything involving the RIAA pre-emphasis

Thu Jul 03, 2014 3:30 pm

The recording curve is an emphasis. It is the RIAA curve. Playback phono pre-amps have a de-emphasis.

Most RIAA eq curves, be them emphasis or de-emphasis, are inaccurate to some extent.
Cutting, Inventing & Innovating
Groove Graphics, VMS Halfnuts, MIDI Automation, Professional Stereo Feedback Cutterheads, and Pesto 1-D Cutterhead Clones
Cutterhead Repair: Recoiling, Cleaning, Cloning of Screws, Dampers & More
http://mantra.audio

davideakin

Fri Jul 04, 2014 3:42 am

opcode66 wrote:The recording curve is an emphasis. It is the RIAA curve. Playback phono pre-amps have a de-emphasis.
Most RIAA eq curves, be them emphasis or de-emphasis, are inaccurate to some extent.
That is what I would like to examine- the accuracy of the emphasis circuits in some typical cutting amplifiers.