NEWBIE STARTER GUIDE!

Introduce yourself! Recommended for people who are just starting out, as opposed to experienced lathe cutters who are new members.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

piaptk

NEWBIE STARTER GUIDE!

Fri Jun 07, 2019 12:28 pm

I deal almost exclusively with Newbies, so I've written a starter guide that will give those who really have no knowledge of where to start a quick introduction to the many different facets of cutting records.

THE NEWBIES GUIDE TO RECORD CUTTING

ABOUT THIS GUIDE AND ITS' AUTHOR:
My name is Michael Dixon and I have been cutting records since 2007. I have explored every aspect of the hobby/art/profession I possibly could and have experimented obsessively to find new methods, procedures, materials and techniques. I know a lot about this hobby, and am widely considered to be one of the most active and knowledgeable in this niche, but I do not know it all. There are many others out there who also know a lot and may have different experiences, ideas, and opinions than I. The guide below represents my opinions and experiences as someone who has been doing it for a long time. It is designed to give you a very quick overview and is not intended to be infallible or exhaustive. It does not necessarily reference or apply to all lathes/brands/etc. It gives you the loose rules, not every possible exception. For more info about me visit: http://www.MichaelDixonVinylArt.com

I sell machines, parts, accessories, embossing needles, and many other things at http://www.RecordLatheParts.com. I also sell tech support if you need some more information or help setting up your lathe.

THIS GUIDE IS NOT INTENDED FOR PEOPLE INTERESTED IN CUTTING PROFESSIONAL LACQUER MASTERS, IT IS MOSTLY APPLICABLE TO SHORT RUN RECORD CUTTING HOBBYISTS AND ENTREPRENUERS.

The main things to remember before getting started with record cutting: