Cutting/Pressing small runs of records myself

This is where record cutters raise questions about cutting, and trade wisdom and experiment results. We love Scully, Neumann, Presto, & Rek-O-Kut lathes and Wilcox-Gay Recordios (among others). We are excited by the various modern pro and semi-pro systems, too, in production and development. We use strange, extinct disc-based dictation machines. And other stuff, too.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

Vek

Cutting/Pressing small runs of records myself

Sun Nov 28, 2010 12:59 am

Hey,

I'm really new to anything related to pressing or cutting my own records, but I found this place linked on some site and it seems like there are a lot of people in the know here. I would like to press or cut my own small runs (1-10) of vinyl for mostly personal use. I understand that this may not be cheap or easy. Where do I start?

Thanks!

-Vek

MEGAMIKE

Sun Nov 28, 2010 1:30 am

hi vek we do them ..clik on link perthection below

cymbalism

Sun Nov 28, 2010 9:51 am

Hey vek

Have a look around the site, there are a lot of great threads chock full of information regarding cutting, cutters, pressing diy and loads more - lots of guys here do cuts for people too just search for it

Happy hunting and welcome to the board!
all the best!
- tommie 'plan 9' emmi
poly-cut lathe cuts / cymbalism recordings

MEGAMIKE

Sun Nov 28, 2010 10:34 am

and yes find sombody close to you that cuts.

Vek

Mon Nov 29, 2010 4:03 am

So you guys would recommend finding someone who already does it and learning from them? I'm a little overwhelmed as to where to start looking, or what I should be looking for first. I suppose equipment would be the first thing. For doing small quantities, what should I be looking to use?

MEGAMIKE

Mon Nov 29, 2010 6:34 am

oh you want to make them yourself ok then...

there is plenty of info here to get you started.but if you are diy person then there is lots of fun frustrating projects to do..