Documenting key events in the history of vinyl record making from 1990 to 2015

This is where record cutters raise questions about cutting, and trade wisdom and experiment results. We love Scully, Neumann, Presto, & Rek-O-Kut lathes and Wilcox-Gay Recordios (among others). We are excited by the various modern pro and semi-pro systems, too, in production and development. We use strange, extinct disc-based dictation machines. And other stuff, too.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

ectomorphs

Documenting key events in the history of vinyl record making from 1990 to 2015

Tue Aug 23, 2022 9:41 pm

Dear Lathe trolls,
Some of you will know me because we’ve spoken via phone/email/zoom/face-to-face in the past – My name is Rene Wiedner, I’m an associate professor at Warwick University, and I’ve been doing research on how vinyl record manufacturing was kept alive by enthusiasts after the successful commercialization of digital media and before the recent ‘vinyl revival’. I have had the great pleasure of learning from many of you directly how you and others have contributed to preserving analog audio disc making.

Here is a plea from me: Can you think of any events that stand out for you (or others) as having played an important part in the history of vinyl record making between 1990 and 2015 – either because they jeopardized the continued existence of vinyl record making or played a key role in preventing its extinction? Some of these events may seem trivial at first but significant in retrospect. I’m thinking especially of developments concerning cutter head repair/development; lacquer disc production; development and distribution of new lathes (e.g. Vinyl Recorder; Vinylium Kingston Dubplate Cutter); running lathe cut workshops to educate newcomers, and the like.