Presses

Once you have cut a master laquer, you have metal stampers created and have records pressed from them. Discuss manufacturing here. (Record Matrix Electroforming- Plating, Vinyl Record Pressing.)

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

mrsteadyhands

Presses

Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:03 pm

Hey again, got another Q. We found a toolex alpha 12" machine we think we will buy, are these any good? I read somewhere they break down alot?? We dont really know which machines are best. Also, do toolex do a 7" press too? Do you have to buy a separate press for 7's?

opcode66

Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:38 pm

I think all record presses break down a lot. That's the bitch of working with older gear...

Alpha Toolex have always been spoken of kindly on the forum. I have no personal knowledge. But, from what people have said, they seem to be good machines.

mrsteadyhands

Wed Oct 13, 2010 4:12 pm

Thanks for getting back. Is there an actual quality difference between machines?

fraggle

Wed Oct 13, 2010 6:45 pm

there are always differentses between machines mate.
you should ask mossboss or montalbano.
cheers

mrsteadyhands

Wed Oct 13, 2010 6:56 pm

Cool, i'll track em down! But, is there any machines that are known for being better or worse than others? i've been looking online, and its really hard to find some kind of comparison between presses.

mossboss

Presses

Thu Oct 14, 2010 3:32 am

Well now
So there is an Alpha machine available that as made 30 odd years ago and someone is asking if they are any good?
The simple answer is Yes extremely good
The question is who is going to keep it going and where are the spares if any are needed?
The same goes for any other 30 yo piece of equipment regardless what its intented to produce
There are parts that just wear out Pins and bushes are no issue costly but available as well as some other bits and pieces very costly