Brand new

Who are you? Tell us about yourself, get feedback, and provide links to your work.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

audiocarver

Brand new

Fri Mar 31, 2006 10:51 pm

Hello,
I am rather new to this forum. I have a Bell Sound Systems cutter and am currently looking at purchasing a Presto 8N and setting up my studio. I would love to get a nice Neumann, Scully or even a Fairchild, but thats the future. I currently work as a field service engineer at a firm that manufactures industrial lasers outside of Detroit, MI. I got my start in electronics on vintage audio equipment. I have been cutting since I was 16 and am now 26 and finally got the means to go further into this endeavor. Hopefully I will meet some new and interresting people here.

Aussie0zborn

Wed Apr 12, 2006 7:30 am

Hi. I notice in your other topic of even date, you say you are 15 years old and now you're 26. Anyway, Im curious as to why you hold Fairchild in the same esteem as Neumann - is there something about Fairchild lathes that we should know about?

cuttercollector

other archaic cutters

Sun Jul 02, 2006 3:23 pm

Hi, my 2 cents...
I have a Bell unit too. These along with many others used a deck with a playback arm and a pivoted cutter arm with leadscrew underneath and a turntable that ran at 78 or 33 rpm, made by General Industries. They tended to use the Astatic crystal cutter. Masco, Meisner and Airline had similar units. I have some examples of all. I have heard what a properly set up one of these can do, and while not hi fi by any means, they are capable of clean quiet recordings, at least at 78 rpm, that probably were about as good as most consumer tape machines of the early 50s. Think slightly better than really good AM radio.