Mss direct acetate lathe

Introduce yourself! Recommended for people who are just starting out, as opposed to experienced lathe cutters who are new members.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

plasticpig850

Mss direct acetate lathe

Sun Jan 10, 2016 9:13 am

Hello to all ,I'm new to lathe trolls,just wondering if somebody can help me,I'd like to know if anyone can tell me the idea of pivoting the cutterhead ,and what adjusts the arm /head for cutting onto polycarbonate/acetate, as I'm not doing that well,and ruining blank's, I dare say it'll all make sense once I know,my machine is a Mss direct acetate cutting lathe, 1959?? I think,many thanks plasticpig850

studiorp

Re: Mss direct acetate lathe

Sun Jan 10, 2016 2:40 pm

Hi, welcome in forum.
For start, can you post here some pics of your lathe ? Mss machines are rare to find ...
Thanks.

plasticpig850

Mon Jan 11, 2016 8:28 pm

IMG_20160111_174350.jpg
Hi studiorp,
Yes these machines are ,but I'm convinced information about them even less, but saying that, Norman field ,who can be found on YouTube cutting polycarbonate 78's on a mss older than mine very interesting here are a few pictures
IMG_20160111_174350.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

studiorp

Tue Jan 12, 2016 5:28 pm

Hi, thanks for photos. If you want know more on your machine, contact Stevie342000 inside forum.

Stevie342000

Tue Jan 12, 2016 6:31 pm

studiorp wrote:Hi, thanks for photos. If you want know more on your machine, contact Stevie342000 inside forum.
Roger over and out just checking in, if I remember this item was for sale on eBay on and off for some time.

To be honest I do not know much about these machines however I do have a copy of a user manual somewhere.