Amplifier for new Rek O Kut Lathe Project

Introduce yourself! Recommended for people who are just starting out, as opposed to experienced lathe cutters who are new members.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

cdslaten1s

Amplifier for new Rek O Kut Lathe Project

Mon May 21, 2018 5:29 pm

Hello all, I'm a newbie so please take it easy on me. I've done research for the past 3 years, had to travel 1300 miles on a failed attempt to pick up a lathe and have finally found one. The table and motor is working on the Rek o Kut. The cutter is a Mono M-12 and is at 5 ohms. Is this too low?

Also, I don't have the funds to buy a vintage tube amp right now but would like to run the sound to the cutting head from a computer. Now where I'm confused is what amplification system would work so I don't blow my cutter head? I would like to run the sound from a DAW so I can check levels etc. but out of my computer is where I'm stuck. Can I use my computer as the amplification system and then run a cable from my computer to an M Box and then use the left/right outputs to hook to the cutter head by using the left/right cables coming from the m box. Obviously this will take re-wiring. There is a picture here that shows my connections running out of the cutter head.

Or could I use a Zoom H6 which can control the output Voltage and how would that help/hurt the cutter head/sound on the disc?

Or would I also need an amp hooked to my computer to send the audio to before it goes to an M Box/Zoom H6 and then out to the cutter head? I have a tube guitar amplifier but am not sure if that would give a good sound quality. If I also need an amp, what modern day amps could you recommend that are reasonably priced?

Thank You all very much!!!!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

markrob

Re: Amplifier for new Rek O Kut Lathe Project

Mon May 21, 2018 6:05 pm

Hi,