Hello!(Refurbishing Recordio, ISO Astatic m41)

Introduce yourself! Recommended for people who are just starting out, as opposed to experienced lathe cutters who are new members.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

Kat

Hello!(Refurbishing Recordio, ISO Astatic m41)

Mon Dec 07, 2020 1:49 am

Hello, you can call me Kat! I’m a geology student living near Minneapolis. Home cut records have been a bit of an obsession lately and I have found myself repairing a salvaged console Recordio as my latest pandemic project. I currently have the turntable and AM working so far. I am stalled though where a lot of newbies end up— waiting for WestTech to open up for crystal head repairs again!

I got a question, how would I go about finding an M41 cartridge instead to replace it?

In the meantime I’m getting one of those Gakken toy record makers all the way from Japan just to mess around with.

5B3CB6BA-D555-4738-85E9-0F7A42C6744B.jpeg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

emorritt

Re: Hello!

Tue Dec 08, 2020 8:25 am

If you do change to an M41 head (magnetic, not crystal) make sure you get a matching transformer because the output of the WG amp for the cutting head is off the plates of the tubes = high voltage; 180VRMS or there about. That will cook an M41 in seconds.

piaptk

Tue Dec 08, 2020 10:34 pm

Hi Kat, i think i have both an m41 and the matching transformer available for sale. Dm me if you are interested. Mike
I Buy/Sell/Restore Vintage Machines/Parts and Provide Phone/In Person Tech Support
www.MichaelDixonVinylArt.com
www.LatheCutCamp.com
www.RecordLatheParts.com
www.MobileVinylRecorders.com
www.LatheCuts.com

Kat

M41

Wed Dec 09, 2020 2:14 pm

cool, sent you a dm.

Kat

Wed Dec 09, 2020 2:15 pm

emorritt wrote:
Tue Dec 08, 2020 8:25 am