Getting started / Buying the right thing

Selling equipment? know of a good lead on obtaining equipment? looking to buy? You can post info here.

Note: We have no system in place, nor the human resources, to enforce fees, for what amounts to placing an ad with the best possible audience for your items. Nonetheless, there is hope, need, and expectation: Please show good will, and help the site survive, by giving a contribution (using the golden button up top) when your item sells, or if the site helps you find the service you need.

Moderators: piaptk, tragwag, Steve E., Aussie0zborn

mosfet

Getting started / Buying the right thing

Mon Jun 25, 2012 8:52 am

First of all: Hello everybody and thanks for this great forum and sharing your knowledge here.

My name is Tobi and i will be graduating as an B.eng in Electrical Engineering soon. I have a handcrafting master degree as an electrician (some german thang :wink: ). I am interested in electronics and recording ever since and now i stumbled upon the well known "vinyl-recorder" which brought up my interest in reproducing. Digging deeper i discovered the vinylium gear and now the caruso project. So now i want to get started in cutting records with the attempt of selling some dubplates here in the area of frankfurt, but having the option of cutting lacquers to do mastering as well (this is obviously the point where VR is obsolete).

Why i post this in tip offs is that i would like to have some ideas of what a system with a caruso head (which i am tending to the most right now cause i like the enthusiasm and the idea of making a cutting head affordable) could look like, for someone getting started with the intention of learning about mastering. Which lathes and amps can be used with the caruso? Where do i get them? Should one straight get a neumann lathe (if one could affort :) ) and will it pay off?

It's tough gathering information thats why i ask straight up the newbie way.

Regards,

Tobi

dubcutter89